On A Victory Roll: A Complete List of Pakistan Cricket Team Records

Pakistan has been on a seemingly unstoppable roll recently. The green shirts have scored 2 consecutive series sweeps where they whitewashed Australia and New Zealand. Employing a well-disciplined and efficient strategy, Pakistan has managed to take down most of the teams they been pitted against in the 2018 T20I.

Pakistan is enjoying a terrific year in 2018 with 17 wins from 19 T20Is.

The Greens have broken a great many records until now. The following is a complete list of team and individual records:

Team Records

Pakistan has won all 10 of their T20Is in UAE since 2016. From 2009 to 2015, they won the same number of matches from 25 T20Is.
Pakistan has won 17/19 T20Is in 2018. No other team has achieved more wins in a calendar year since the start of T20Is in 2005. Mumbai Indians (2013) & Cape Cobras (2014) have also achieved 17 T20 wins in a year, but with many more losses.
Pakistan has been victorious in all 11 of their series after the 2016 World T20. No other team has achieved as much during the same time. India comes 2nd with 9 series (9W, 2L, 1D) victories.
Pakistan fielders have achieved more run-outs (22) in the last 2 years in T20Is than any other team. Sri Lanka comes in 2nd with 15 run-outs.
Pakistan has smashed through 10 successive T20Is in UAE. The last time they were defeated in a T20 was the tied match against England. This was 3 years ago in November 2015.
Pakistan now has a 27 win streak from their last 30 T20 matches. This stands equal to the 2nd best 30-match streak in T20 history.  Pakistan stands second to the Sialkot Stallions (W 27, L 3) & tied at 2nd place with Lahore Lions (W 26, L4). It is considered the best 30-match streak in the history of T20Is.
In 2018, with 17/19 T20I matches won, Pakistan holds the best win percentage of any team until now.
This was the third time in his T20I captaincy that Sarfraz Ahmed opened the bowling with a right-arm bowler – Mohammad Hafeez v NZ. Previously instances have been Aamer Yamin v NZ (2017) & Shoaib Malik v ZIM (2018).
Pakistan has 13 wins against New Zealand in this format. This is the most number of wins against the Kiwis in the T20Is.
Pakistan has bowled out its competitors 31 times in the history of T20I. This is the most number of times managed by any team. Australia places 2nd with 19.
Pakistan also holds the record for bowling out the opposition in less than 100 runs. They have achieved this 9 times.
This is the seventh consecutive win for Pakistan in T20Is. This is third time they have bagged 7 consecutive wins. India is the only other team that has managed to do this. They achieved in 3 times.


Individual Records

Babar Azam is now holds the record for fastest player to score 1000 runs in T20Is. He broke Virat Kohli’s record for this. Babar is now the 6th Pakistani and 50th player in the world to reach this milestone.
Babar Azam holds the best average in T20Is from Pakistan. The record previously belonged to Misbah-ul-Haq with 37.52.
There are only 6 spinners in T20I history to have an economy rate of under six runs per over in the first six overs. Imad Wasim is one of them.
Asif Ali is an extremely talented player especially when playing against seam bowling. He debuted in April. Since then, only Aaron Finch (10.78) has been able to beat his run rate of 10.32 against quicks (min. 100 balls faced).
Mohammad Hafeez now has the most 50+ scores from Pakistan. He has 10 scores of 50 or above in T20Is. Babar Azam comes in 2nd 8 scores of 50 or more. He is tied with Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal.
Mohammad Hafeez is the 3rd Pakistani to score 50 sixes in T20I history
Mohammad Hafeez has now struck, at the very least, 1 six in his last 6 T20I innings. Imran Nazir is the only other player from Pakistan to strike a 6 in more consecutive innings – 8.
Mohammad Hafeez now has 54 wickets for Pakistan. This is the 3rd best from Pakistan in T20I history. He is tied at 3rd place with Sohail Tanvir however he has a better average.
Shaheen Shah Afridi scored 3 for 20 against New Zealand in 2nd T20I. This is the best bowling figures by an under-19 fast bowler.
Shadab Khan now holds the most wickets in 2018’s T20I. He holds a grand total of 28 wickets now.
Shoaib Malik has taken 47 catches in T20Is for Pakistan. This is the most catches in T20I for 2018.
In his captaincy up until now, Sarfraz Ahmed has led Pakistan to 29 victories in 33 matches in the T20I. He holds the best win-rate of any Pakistani captain with 5 or more matches played in the role.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *